Adelaide, Fremantle announced as Australia’s first Fair Trade Cities

Adelaide City Council has become the country’s first Fair Trade Capital City and has joined Fremantle City Council in becoming Australia’s first two Fair Trade Cities, the Fair Trade Association of Australia & New Zealand (FTAANZ) announced.

FTAANZ also announced that Leichardt Municipal Council (NSW) joins Manly Council (NSW) and Yarra Council (VIC) as the country’s third Fair Trade Council.

The announcements come as Australia celebrates Fair Trade Fortnight, the country’s annual celebration of all things fair trade.

Cameron Neil, FTAANZ operations manager, said with Adelaide becoming Australia’s first Fair Trade Capital City and Fremantle becoming Western Australia’s first Fair Trade City, Australia was now part of a global movement which has more than 500 Fair Trade Towns and Cities across the world including London, Rome, Edinburgh, Wellington and San Francisco.

“Within Australia, Adelaide, Fremantle and Leichhardt join over 300 Fair Trade Communities across the country including other councils, workplaces, schools and faith groups who have signed up to make the big swap to fair trade in order to help tackle poverty and create better futures for developing country farmers, producers, their families and communities,” he said.


Send this to a friend