AIFST supports student food development

The student creators of a high fibre, gluten free pumpkin and spinach snack and a chocolate banana ravioli dessert are this year’s finalists in the seventh annual Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST) Student Product Development Competition with the winner to be announced at the ‘Our Food Our Future’ 41st annual AIFST Conference in July 2008.

For the final judging on Monday 21st July 2008, the two finalists will undertake a detailed final report, oral presentation, poster display and provide product samples.

Finalists share $1500 in prize money from the competition’s main sponsor, Earlee Products; and can also win an additional $1000 for the best meat innovation from Meat and Livestock Australia, $1000 for fruit or vegetable innovation from SPC Ardmona and $500 from Sensory Solutions for the best application of sensory techniques in their product development presentation.

Open to undergraduate student members of the AIFST, the competition is intended to promote professionalism and innovative thinking, while providing an opportunity for students to showcase their originality, talent and team skills.

“The competition is a great opportunity to get hands on experience in product development,” said Choc Banana Ravioli team leader Yvonne Lake.

“It also gives us valuable exposure to food industry representatives, which is a great leg-up for employment opportunities,” she added.

The AIFST Convention encompasses the latest information and hot topics of interest to food and packaging manufacturers and their suppliers, service industries such as hospitality, primary industry representatives and food marketers.

Held in co-location with FoodPro exhibition over four days, different aspects of the food industry including regulatory issues, business development and the future of food will be held under the microscope.

Focusing on the role of education and training in the food industry will be respected international speakers, Frank Yiannas (manager of Walt Disney World’s food safety and health department) and Professor John Floros (president of the US Institute of Food Technologists).

AIFST was established in 1967 to represent individuals involved in the Australian food and allied industries. Committed to building professional standing in the sector, AIFST has developed a strong reputation for facilitating networking, communication and education in the food industry.

The 41st annual AIFST Convention will be held at the Sydney Exhibition and Convention Centre, Darling Harbour from 21 — 24 July 2008.

For further information on the AIFST Student Product Development Competition or to register for the AIFST Convention, visit

Send this to a friend