Cereal science awards announced at ICBC 2016

The 15th International Cereal and Bread Congress (ICBC),  organised by ICC – International Association for Cereal Science and Technology – and ICC’s national representation in Turkey, Hacettepe University, took place on 18-21 April 2016 in Istanbul, Turkey.

The following awards were announced at the conference:

Clyde H. Bailey Medal – the most prestigious ICC Award, for outstanding achievements in the service of cereal science and technology, granted once per four years, was given to: Dr. Peter R. Shewry, Rothamsted Research, UK.

Distinguished Research Fellow at Rothamsted Research and Professor of Plants and Health at the University of Reading, United Kingdom, for his outstanding research on wheat and other cereal grains, ranging from grain structure and functionality to molecular genetics.

Fellowship of the ICC Academy – for those who have made significant contributions to cereal science and the aims and objectives of the ICC was given to: Dr. Elke Arendt, University College of Cork, Ireland

For outstanding activities in cereal related food and health research, notably in the area of gluten free foods and beverages.

Harald Perten Prize – for outstanding achievements in science, research, teaching or transmission of knowledge, which serve cereal sciences and technology – primarily recognizing practical applications in the areas of starch, gluten and enzymes, was given to: Dr. Hamit Köksel, Hacettepe University, Turkey

He has covered areas of gluten, starch and enzymes in his long ambitious list of scientific papers and appearances. Being an active professor in Turkey and worldwide has also lead to extensive transmission of knowledge.

Dr. Matthew Morell, International Rice Research Institute, Philippiness also received an award for outstanding activities in cereal biochemistry and genetics research and research management.

Send this to a friend