Dairy leader named as new AIFST president

Anne Astin has been named president of the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology.

Inducted last night for a two year term at the 46th AIFST Convention in Brisbane, Dr Astin’s appointment follows two years as AIFST president elect.

Astin is the former CEO of Dairy Food Safety Victoria, a director of Australian Dairy Farmers Limited, chair of Wellsprings for Women Inc (a not-for-profit organisation supporting isolated women) and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee of EnergySafe Victoria as well as Innovation Australia’s Clean Technology Food and Foundries Investment Committee.

Outgoing president Jo Davey said that Astin is passionate about food safety and maintaining Australia’s enviable food industry reputation.

"She has been widely praised for her commitment to empowering people to reach their full potential – a dedication that aligns perfectly with AIFST’s most important role of supporting the professional development of its members, she said.

A trained biochemist, Astin's work has attracted significant accolades including the Public Service Medal (PSM) of the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to the dairy industry, national food regulation and rural women. She was inducted into the Victorian Women’s Honour Roll for her work in biochemistry and as an advocate of women’s leadership, and she was the first woman to receive the Australian Dairy Industry Council’s Outstanding Service Award.

"I look forward to continuing to position AIFST as a world leader in food science and technology, providing members with services and support that benefit them and building a sustainable and vibrant 21st century organisation," Astin said.

"I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing president Jo Davey for her tireless work, leadership, passion and insight in guiding the AIFST through a period of great change that has seen the organisation move to a place of greater relevance and engagement of members."