GT Winemaker of the Year Award winners announced

Penfolds’ chief winemaker Peter Gago has won a double gong at Gourmet Traveller Winemaker of the Year awards.

Gago has been named the Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year 2014, but also received the Len Evans Award.

Chairman of judges Peter Forrestal said “Not only is Peter Gago an inspirational winemaker, but his tireless efforts worldwide as a roving brand ambassador have transformed his importance to Penfolds and broadened our perception of the kinds of leadership a winemaker can offer.

“He has a rare talent as a winemaker that melds an astute and refined palate, an inclusive leadership style and a clear sense of historical perspective which enables him to draw on Penfolds legacy in fashioning modern-day wines.”

Young Winemaker Medal

The Medal for Young Winemaker of the Year 2014 went to Gwyn Olsen chief winemaker at Briar Ridge based in the Hunter Valley, NSW.

Viticulturist of the Year Award

This year, The Perpetual Viticulturist of the Year Award for 2014 went to the Chalmers family who are almost single-handedly responsible for the introduction and growth of indigenous Italian grape varieties suited to the Australian climate.

“The Chalmers family has contributed an enormous amount to warm-climate viticulture, to the cause of alternative grape varieties, to the diversity of Australian wine and to their fellow grape growers. The fact this is truly a family business with no fewer than five family members now involved gives it extra resonance,” said judge Huon Hooke.

The Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year 2014 award was judged by a panel of the magazine’s contributors: Huon Hooke, Andrew Caillard MW, Nick Bulleid MW, Peter Bourne, Sophie Otton, Mike Bennie, and Peter Forrestal.



Send this to a friend