Hindus urge gelatin source be listed

The Hindu community is urging the Australian Government and Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) to mandate that food manufacturers state the source of gelatin, if used in a product.

Gelatin is often sourced from beef, the consumption of which is highly conflicting to Hindu beliefs. Cows are venerated in Hinduism.

When the source of gelatin is not listed and is beef, it is a serious non-disclosure affecting Hindu devotees, President of the Universal Society of Hinduism Rajan Zed said.

It would be shocking for the Australian Hindu community to learn that some popular food products, which they might have been eating for years, could contain beef as part of their gelatin while not being named in the ingredients listed, Zed said.

He urged Australian Governor General Peter Cosgrove, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, Health Minister Greg Hunt and FSANZ CEO Mark Booth to urgently look into this issue that affects Hindu-Australians.

Gelatin is procured from various animal body parts, often pork and beef, and is usually used as a gelling agent in food. It is an ingredient in some cereals, ice creams, candies, yogurts, desserts, marshmallows, aspic, trifles, dips, fruit snacks, sour cream, margarine, frosting, confections, gums, Chinese soup dumplings, puddings, non-dairy creamers, cakes, cream cheese and lozenges.

Gelatin is also used for the clarification of vinegar, juices and wine.


Send this to a friend