New directors for sugar research appointed

Posted by Rita Mu

The directors of the Sugar Research Development Corporation (SRDC) board have been appointed by Federal Agriculture Minister, Senator Joe Ludwig.

According to the Minister, the new directors will bring extensive management, business and science skills to the board.

“This board, chaired by the Hon. Ian Causley, offers the diverse skills and experience necessary to successfully govern and achieve the corporation’s objectives for the next three years,” Minister Ludwig said.

“The corporation works to foster a profitable and internationally competitive sugar industry by investing in research and development on a cooperative, partnership basis with industry and the general community.”

The SRDC is the statutory authority that provides strategic support to industry through targeted investment in research and development. It is funded by levies from the sugarcane industry and matching funds from the Federal Government.

The Sugar Research and Development Corporation appointees are:

Stephen Guazzo
Managing Partner and Director of Fairford Farming Company and Hamleigh Harvesting Company, Guazzo has over 35 years of sugar industry experience. Mr Guazzo has been a SRDC director since 2006.

Dr Paul Donnelly
Dr Donnelly has a career history in rural research, development and management of issues associated with climate change and sustainability.

Lindy Hyam
Hyam brings skills in business management gained through roles such as the General Manager of the City of Newcastle, Chief Executive Officer of Plant Health Australia, and the Executive Director of the Horticulture Research and Development Corporation. In 2009 Ms Hyam received the Prime Minister’s Award for environmental sustainability and the NSW Premier’s Award for the Environment.

Julian Venning
Group Production Manager, Sucrogen Limited, Venning has over 30 years in the sugar industry, mainly in milling operations, operations management, project development and technical management and support.

Dr Kleanthes Yannakou
Currently a consultant for private and government sector organisations on operating in a low carbon economy, Dr Yannakou has held senior positions including CEO of Food Science Australia, Chair of the CSIRO International Council and the Chief Scientist (Food Manufacturing) for the Department of Primary Industries, Victoria.

Dr Tracy Henderson
Currently works at CSIRO as Manager for the Impact 2020 project. Dr Henderson holds a PhD, in which she developed a strategic evaluation framework to manage and improve the performance of sugar research activities.

Image: nff.org.au

Send this to a friend