Yarra Valley company Seville Estate win winery of the year award

Seville Estate has been named Winery of the Year at the 2019 Halliday Wine Companion Awards.

Wine expert James Halliday presented the award at a ceremony in Melbourne, in early August.

Each year Halliday and a tasting panel determine the best from a pool of several thousand featured in the annual Halliday wine companion guide.

In addition to the Winery of the Year award, Seville Estate’s 2017 release includes 10 wines awarded with 95 points or more including its signature shiraz, pinot noir and chardonnay ranges.

READ: Victoria’s wine industry gets a $2 million boost from the government

Chief winemaker and general manager Dylan McMahon said he was honoured to accept the award.

“Seville Estate has been consistently producing great wines ever since my grandfather Peter McMahon first planted the vineyard. I feel the success is attributed to a combination of factors, location, vine material and a good understanding of the vineyard that can be translated into the winemaking,” he said.

“My grandmother Margaret chose this site for its sheer beauty and it was Pete’s drive and determination to make great cool climate wines from it. Our team work hard to ensure this vision continues,” said McMahon.

The Seville Estate 2017 wine release was produced from 26 acres of estate vineyard and will be released on allocation from the 5th of October 2018.

An hour’s drive from Melbourne, Seville Estate is located in the foothills of Mount Dandenong at the start of the Yarra River.

The winery has a recently refurbished cellar door, onsite accommodation and a weekend restaurant providing lunch and dinner.

Wine of the Year was awarded to 2017 Duke’s Vineyard Magpie Hill Reserve Riesling, produced in Great Southern WA.

Winemaker of the Year went to Julian Langworthy of Deep Woods Estate in Margaret River, WA.

The Best Value Winery of the Year award went to Provenance Wines in Geelong, Victoria.

Best New Winery was awarded to Mewstone Wines, Tasmania.

Dark Horse Winery of the Year was awarded to Principia, Mornington Peninsula, Victoria.

Photo: from left, Andrew Peggie, Jarrod Johnson, Dylan McMahon from Seville Estate.