Women In Industry Awards’ finalists announced

The 2020 Women in Industry Awards’ finalists have been announced, including several that have an association with the food and beverage industry. This includes Kylie Jones from Diageo Australia who is a finalist in the Mentor of the Year category, and Rebecca Parnell from the Artisan Food Company who is a finalist in the Excellence in Engineering category.

Jones has taken numerous steps to forge close relationships with women within the broader STEM industry, with a particular focus on manufacturing and operations.

Jones was selected as 2019/2020 Superstar of STEM, a program designed to increase the profile of Australian female scientists. n 2019, as part of that program, she networked with fellow STEM graduates, academics, business and industry representatives to share her career as a female scientist in industry, who is passionate about being a role model for young women and girls interested in a STEM career.

Jones is on on the Diversity Committee for her employer, Diageo Australia, who has been recognised as an Inclusive Employer by the Diversity Council of Australia. As part of that committee, Jones is involved in organising events throughout the year.

Parnell has a broad knowledge and experience in the manufacturing field having worked for 17 years across multiple fields including the pharmaceutical, veterinary and food industries. Parnell’s current role has found her working for Artisan Food Company where she lives Artisan’s motto “for the love of sharing”. She openly shares her knowledge and capability and uses training and education to increase the level of inclusion of women, both internally and externally. She is a change agent, whether on the manufacturing floor or working with government or regulatory bodies, and she employs corporate strategies for cultural change including both education and inclusion. 

Due to COVID-19 there will not be a physical event. Winners will be announced in late August.

Social Leader of the Year
Alanna Vial – BlueScope
Althea Papinczak – Women in Design and Construction (WIDAC)
Elizabeth Taylor – RedR International
Gemma Murphy – QBE Insurance
Jackie Lewis-Gray – BAE Systems Australia
Jane Tiller – Monash University
Sarah McSwiney – Boeing Aerostructures Australia

Rising Star of the Year
Proudly sponsored by Atlas Copco
Alicia Heskett – Shell Australia (QGC)
Helen Vu – BOC
Kate Robertson – Geological Survey of SA
Kate Stanbury – Stantec Australia
Keren Reynolds – BAE Systems Australia
Louise Azzopardi – WesTrac
Nima Sherpa – BHP
Rose Lindner – MMG
Vera Milutinovic – Inenco

Business Development Success of the Year
Caroline Murray – APS Industrial
Jackie Thew – Abrasive Media Supplies
Marika Logan – Elgas
Rachael Ashfield – ifm
Stefanie Frawley – Colliers International
Sonia Turner – Scope Systems

Industry Advocacy Award
Elizabeth Molyneux – AGL Energy
Hayley Jarick – Supply Chain Sustainability School
Jacquelene Brotherton – Transport Women Australia Limited
Jodie Sainsbury – Kickass Women
Joy Marrocco – AGL
Rose Read – National Waste & Recycling Industry Council
Shay Chalmers – Strategic Engineering
Sonja Malcolm – Sydney Metro

Safety Advocacy Award
Proudly sponsored by BOC Ltd
Annastasia Denigan – Cement Australia
Lyndal Denny – Women In Trucking Australia
Maddy Holloway – CITIC Pacific Mining
Nadine Yousef – Sydney Trains
Natalia Trewin – WesTrac Pty Ltd
Noelani Reardon – Transport for NSW
Terese Withington – Weir Minerals Australia Ltd
Tracey MacDonald – BAE Systems Australia

Mentor of the Year
Clytie Dangar – CRC ORE
Dayle Stevens – AGL Energy
Kylie Jones – Diageo Australia
Marie Varrasso – Officeworks

Excellence in Manufacturing
Josie Costanzo – Brickworks Building Products
Marina Melik – Boeing Aerostructures Australia
Rebecca Parnell – Artisan Food Company Pty Ltd
Rochelle Avinu – Leica Biosystems
Samantha McDonald – Bluescope

Excellence in Mining
Carlie Hayward – BHP
Clytie Dangar – CRC ORE
Jacqueline Madsen – Caterpillar
Kim Parascos – iVolve Industrial Technology
Rose Lindner – MMG
Sarah Withell – BHP
Terese Withington – Weir Minerals Australia Ltd

Excellence in Engineering
Proudly sponsored by BAE Systems Australia
Elizabeth Taylor – RedR International
Jane MacMaster – Engineers Australia
Jo Withford – Department of Transport
Lesley DeGaris – Boeing Aerostructures Australia
Lidija Dumbaloska – Sydney Trains
Mandy Petrides – Bosch Australia

Excellence in Transport
Agnes Lesson – Elgas
Camilla Drover – Transport for NSW
Danelle Kempton – Dananni Haulage
Jane Gillespie – Arup
Lyndal Denny – Women In Trucking Australia
Melissa Strong – Lindsay Australia Limited